top of page

Doubt


I read something quite intriguing this week. According to extensive research, teachers who feel they are making a difference are the ones who make the biggest impact on their students. Although the statement applied to educators, I immediately began thinking of how this applies to all positions. It dawned on me just how much power there is in our perception of whether or not we are fulfilling our purpose for God. The enemy knows this, so he lies to us day and night by claiming that our attempts are futile.

The enemy consistently lied to me in this way during my first two days of teaching. I left school each day so confused! I knew God was saying this would be my best year yet, but I was left feeling dissatisfied as I walked to my car. After seeking out the answers to my increasing questions, God revealed I had been relying on my own increasing confidence as a teacher. He was glad to see me becoming more comfortable in my calling, but I was beginning to place my trust in other sources besides Him. As a result, the enemy saw an optimal time to attack.

Now my Daddy has given me a renewed focus for the year. The amount of preparation I put into a lesson or my growing knowledge of classroom management are not the keys to success in my calling.

I serve a God who equips those He called.

Because my God has called me to be a teacher in this season, I know I am making a difference. God is using me to touch the lives of others. Some days I don't see any fruit from my efforts, but my Father knows what He is faithfully bringing to fruition. I am planting seeds that may even take years to show any results, so I must trust God in the process. I will pay no attention to the lies of the accuser that say otherwise. My Daddy has the power to make all things new, so I refuse to rely on how my situation appears.

And whenever my situation leaves me feeling empty or discouraged, angry or confused, the answer is always the same. I just need more of my Father. With each new victory and level of intimacy, I am still desiring more of Him. At the end of the day, He is the only answer.

Give me more, Daddy! Help me understand You in new ways and see even more of Your beauty. Thank You for being with me always - teaching, guiding, and loving me. You are more than enough, my hope all day long.

My flesh and my heart may fail,

but God is the strength of my heart

and my portion forever.

Psalm 73:26


bottom of page