top of page

Saturday Thoughts


The chaos calls as my feet hit the floor. My mind is lucid, and my thoughts leap to the tasks of the day.

My to do list perches itself on my shoulder and whispers in my ear. This list demands that it guides my thoughts and overtakes my day, my peace.

On the other shoulder, I hear a sweet, familiar voice. He asks me to enjoy the slow, the quiet, the calm. The chaos does not own me.

Little by little, my mind begins to scream. The battle between the two voices disquiets me and holds me captive. I know which voice reigns supreme, yet I am stuck in no man's land. Demands dance around me and cause my feet to stand still. These demands loom higher still and plunder my joy.

But, I see my Daddy. As I look to His face, I feel the warmth of His hand in mine. As I focus on truth, His voice becomes louder and drowns out the white noise of the world.

This world is fleeting. It does not own me, my thoughts, or my actions. The world's claim on me is diminishing; the ties are breaking. I'm learning to walk with Him. My steps become lighter, my thoughts more joyful, the days full of greater possibilities. Around me I see supply, not demand. I feel hope, not dread. I walk with joy instead of worry. My fears are quelled by His radical love. I have a choice. I choose the easy burden and the light load of my Father. He walks with me and all is good.


bottom of page