top of page

Friend

Sometimes I find myself treating God like an awkward acquaintance instead of my oldest and dearest friend. I come to Him, envisioning rehearsed words and long pauses. I come hesitantly, with my to-do list nagging at the back of my mind. Yet He is my friend.

In fact, He is that familiar friend always wanting to catch up. He even knows what is happening, yet He loves hearing it come from my lips. When I have neglected Him, He is still eager to be with me. There is no hitch in the conversation.

He is the friend I can always count on. The one who continuously cheers me on. The one who sees right through my thin facade and knows when times are hard.

He is the friend in whom I can confide my darkest secrets. There is no shame, only a flood of relief and intense love.

He is the friend on the back porch as I drink my morning coffee. The shared silence is intimate and comfortable. We simply enjoy the solidity of each other’s presence.

He is the comforting presence beside me as my heart breaks. And He is my companion through the humdrum aspects of ordinary life. He walks with me through tragedy and success alike.

He is good and faithful, full of unparalleled love. He reminds me to slow down and enjoy a walk with a friend. He listens, He comforts, and He cares. He is my dearest friend.


bottom of page