top of page

A Loving Question


"Do you trust Me?"

The last few months have been a whirlwind for Tyler and me. Tyler's alternative certification fell through for teaching this summer, and we were left with an endless tirade of questions running through our minds.

Then I heard a simple, searching question from God: "Do you trust Me?"

You see, we went through something similar last summer. Alternative certification changes frequently, and things looked extremely dim last summer as well. Then suddenly, beyond all earthly logic, Tyler had his job and was ready for his second year of teaching. God showed up and showed out in a mighty way. Last summer helped plant a seed of faith in Tyler and me - that our God is a God who works things for our good DESPITE how circumstances may appear. He is that good, and we can rest in that fact.

So when his certification was up in the air this summer, we had greater faith and peace as we waded into the unknown. When events turned out differently than we had hoped, we were at a loss.

Had we done something wrong? Were we not listening? Had we missed out?

God was more interested in what these questions pointed out in our hearts than in the surface level state of our circumstances.

He asked, "Do you trust Me?"

In times like this, a verse from my childhood always rings clearly in my head:

"For we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose." Romans 8:28

We knew God was prompting us to trust Him through a circumstance that looked entirely different than what we had expected. We could be assured that He was working out this situation for our good, wholly and completely.

We both prayed a lot in the coming days after we received the news. God assured Tyler that it was okay - Tyler had been faithful and he had several opportunities in front of him from which he could choose. Tyler felt like he was supposed to work with cars instead of pursuing more work in the welding field. Shortly afterwards, we visited Tyler's parents in north Alabama. Tyler's dad asked him what he was thinking of for his next endeavor, and he quickly offered for Tyler to come and get some experience at his auto mechanic shop.

Tyler worked with his dad for four weeks during the summer, but he would come home to visit me on the weekends. After working together every day for the past two years, it was quite different for us as we adjusted to a long distance relationship. However, Tyler enjoyed the work, and he and his dad began talking about what it would look like if Tyler continued working at the shop. Both Tyler and his dad had dreamed of Tyler taking over his father's shop at some point. Suddenly the door was opening, and we were excited for what lay ahead.

But I was still living in Opelika, preparing for another school year of teaching geometry to tenth graders. I was unsure if that was still what I was supposed to do. I did finish my master's degree in school counseling last year, but I had not felt like I was supposed to apply for jobs during the summer. I felt like I was supposed to wait - that Tyler and I would leave our school at the same time. Had I heard correctly?

In our ears, God was whispering, "Do you trust Me?"

During Tyler's final week working with his dad, I decided to come visit him for a few days before the back to school rush began. I had eaten breakfast with Tyler, left him at work, and I was walking our dog at a local park. While enjoying the peace and quiet of an early morning walk, I received a text message. My alma mater's tenth grade school counselor had felt led to accept a school counseling position at another school.

Tenth grade?!? My alma mater?!?

That was the grade I felt most drawn to in my teaching and my future counseling. I knew the job opening was not a coincidence. I called Tyler, and both of us agreed - I should prepare for what I felt God was saying. I applied for the job by the end of the day and began preparing for an interview. Suddenly I felt light and giddy. This was a crazy situation, but God's voice was clear. Applying to the job was a leap of faith, and I should partner with what I felt he was telling me. Tyler and I began making lists of what needed to be done to sell the house. We even felt that I should be as honoring as possible to my principal by telling him that I had applied for the job.

At times, I felt presumptuous. It's not that I felt that I was most qualified for the job - or that it was a guarantee.

But I had heard God. That was what I clung to so dearly.

He doesn't tell us things to tease us. They might turn out differently than we expect, but we can trust the things he says. I heard Him telling me to partner with what I had heard, to move in faith. I shouldn't be afraid that I misheard or made it up. I should just take the leap, disregard the doubts, and trust that He has me.

One week later I was contacted for an interview. I was elated! I updated my resume, picked out my outfit, and asked my school's counselors for interview advice and possible questions. The interview was on a Monday, so Tyler and I drove up over the weekend to look at houses in the area. It felt good to be back in north Alabama, near our roots and driving by open fields.

I felt peace on the day of the interview, but I didn't leave the interview feeling like I had nailed it. I felt good about what I had been able to communicate, but now came the waiting. It was a relief to have the interview behind me, but I knew the next day I would have to return to teaching. I felt stuck in the middle. I wanted to be content in the present and available for my students, but I also felt the call of this new opportunity. I believed I might hear by the end of the day of the interview, but I knew I needed to be okay with however long it took.

Yet again, I could hear God asking me, "Do you trust Me?"

Once I released my tight grip on the need to receive a call immediately, God reminded me of my job interview at my current job. I had received the job the day of my interview. Oh Lord, could it be so?!? To confirm my rising hope, God even led me to discover the old voicemail I still had in my phone of when my current principal had offered me my teaching job.

I kept clinging to His words and reminders as I went throughout the rest of the day. Tyler and I drove back to Opelika, and we headed to dinner. After we drove into the parking lot of the restaurant, I received a call from a number I didn't recognize.

I was offered the school counseling position! Tears streamed down my face. I had to clear my throat before answering. It felt so good to receive this gift, this answered promise. Almost two weeks after hearing about the job opening, I had received my first job as a school counselor. Tyler and I called our parents to share the good news. This officially meant we were moving back to north Alabama! I would be working at my alma mater, and Tyler would be working at his dad's auto mechanic shop.

God had been so good. He had exceeded our expectations. Suddenly Tyler's job change made sense. We were being led back to our home, our families - a desire that had been in our hearts for a few years. The enemy had sought to disqualify Tyler and steal his job, but God had turned the situation for good and given Tyler a business.

After receiving the school counseling job, things began clicking along. I informed my principal, and I turned in my official letter of resignation after being board approved for my new job. I got to visit my new school counseling office, and I began organizing and packing up things in my classroom. My heart longed for my new job, but I knew I had to be patient as I awaited the hiring of my replacement. I prayed for the new teacher to care for my students, to be a good fit for the school, and to enjoy teaching math. I began telling my coworkers, but I waited to tell my students until I knew who my replacement would be.

As the weeks continued, I found it harder to be patient. I often felt anxious, tired, and oh-so-ready for the next chapter. I was afraid my face clearly showed how eager I was to move on to school counseling. I wanted and needed to be there for my students, but I felt weak and riddled with feelings of inadequacy. I found comfort as I spent time with God - He gave me verse after verse that fit my situation perfectly.

He was lovingly patting my shoulder and asking, "Do you trust Me?"

As I relaxed into a more peaceful and trusting state, closure of this chapter loomed near. Interviews were held for my teaching position last week, and my job was offered to someone last Thursday. On Friday, my replacement officially accepted. Oh, and our house went under contract on the exact same day. Talk about confirmation and God's miraculous, perfect timing. Yes!

I've spent this week telling my students, preparing my room for its next inhabitant, and reminiscing on my five and half years of teaching and growing. I was dreading how it would go as I told my students that I was leaving them, but I have been blown away by their love and kindness. I've received hugs, promises of candy, and endless compliments and kind words. God has filled my tank to the brim, and He keeps reminding Tyler and me that we are leaving well.

As this crazy, exhilarating chapter of our lives comes to a close, the truth of it all rings clear:

GOD receives all the glory.

GOD is greater than any mountain we face.

GOD is with us in our darkest storm.

God is the Orchestrater of our dreams, the Enchanter of our hearts, and the Comforter of our souls. He has been with Tyler and me each step of the way, holding our hands and whispering in our ears. He has taught us how to better hear Him and trust Him. At the end of it all, we can truly say that we are grateful for this life of faith we get to live in Him. We even have a God who delights in us as we walk with Him and share of what He has done for us. He is also delighted when we share our stories, or testimonies, of His goodness. Our sharing allows power to be unleashed, faith to arise, and joy to increase.

I hope this testimony blesses you.

I hope you hear when He asks you, "Do you trust Me?"

It's worth the leap, no matter the mountain you face.


bottom of page